"Lubricants" from Jim Nomura

Started by alantani, June 22, 2010, 09:30:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alantani

jim nomura and i have been working together for the last 2 months.  he's a retired engineer and brought in a new lube for me to try.  it looks very promising..........

Lubrication in high performance bearings
used in saltwater fishing reels

by Jim Nomura

Lubrication and protection of Bearings both ball and sleeve types are a critical issue in maintaining peak performance in fishing reels. It is needed not only for  reducing friction but also to protect the bearings from corrosion and to maximize a  bearings useful life.

Generalized overview:

Lubrication: Lubrication in a bearing is used to minimize sliding friction and to prevent galling of the bearings. Lubrication also reduces wear on sliding surfaces.
   Sleeve bearings: sleeve bearings are single piece bearings with a smooth contact surface. They are generally made of a soft material (bronze, brass, copper, zinc) that is sacrificial in that  the bearing will wear before the shaft. Many sleeve type bearings are also sintered (fused porus material) so that the bearing will absorb oil and provide continuous lubrication. Sleeve bearings are lubricated through a combination of the bearing material it'self and oil that provides a thin layer of lubricant between the bearing and the shaft. Automotive engines rely on sleeve type bearing with forced oil lubrication to replace the oil layer continuously.
   Pros: Long life, low maintenance, no moving parts to fail, operate with large tolerances, low radial friction, quite, low cost, reliable
   Cons: As they wear the tolerances increases, Corrode easily if not maintained, non flanged designs provide no axial load capability, rotational friction is higher than rolling type bearings,.