Best knot or method to unite mono leader to braid.

Started by OSIRIS631, April 07, 2014, 03:45:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OSIRIS631

Hi guys,

I am new to using braid.  What would be the best method or knot to use when attaching a mono leader to main braid line.... EX. I got 20 pound braid on my fluking rod and would like to attach 30 mono leader to line... and how long do you  guys think I should make it.  Thank you for any input

Kindest regards,

John
Sometimes your the dog and sometimes your the tree.

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Bucktail

For that purpose I like the Red Phillips knot.  Very easy to tie and super strong.  I like it for most all inshore fishing.  For bucktailing fluke I like a 3' or 4' leader.   For tuna I like the GT knot.

Hope that helps.

Good luck!
-Bob
Just a jig-a-lo

SoCalAngler

I use to use a Bob Sands knot but I'm now trying the Tony Pena knot. They tie almost the same but the Tony Pena uses a over hand knot on the mono/fluoro vs. a 3 turn uni.  Tony's knot has a smaller profile and passes throught guides easier.

Edit: I use 12 turns up and 12 turns back down on the spectra side.

Edit #2: When tied right there is no need to hold onto the tag end of the spectra as shown in the video, the knot should tighten up fine.

OSIRIS631

Thank you very much gentalmen... and soCal that video was very insightful

Regards,

John
Sometimes your the dog and sometimes your the tree.

Dr. Jekyll - AKA MeL B

modified albright or alberto knot. you need a bimini twist on your braid, easy when you get the hang of it. but when you don't have the time or the boat is rocking i agree with LEE(keta) uni to uni...

SoCalAngler