One 50 Class reel....that's ready to fish out of the box?

Started by TJ Arima, January 08, 2017, 05:23:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TJ Arima

Since I am new to offshore fishing (mainly YFT), have very limited mechanical skills, and have set my mind on 50 Class reel, I am hoping Alan or other reel gurus on this board can narrow down my search.

What is one reel (50 size, like mak50 or 50wlrs) that I can take out of the box, spool some line, and go trolling? I like the idea of people opening up new reels, add grease or oil, tighten this and that, and be good to go for a long time, but I'm not that inclined. My plan is to find one that's already greased/oiled up ready to go then maybe after a season, send it to reel mechanic to service. Been reading a lot into these Makaira reels that comes greased/oiled up ready to go but not sure if I'm right. Too much reading? Maybe.

Some have told me to go 80 Class or even 130 for YFT just in case something big show up but I'm sticking with 50s. Please help. Thank you in advance

TJ

FatTuna

I'd get a Tiagra 50W LRSA. It has a steeper drag cam and the hydrothermal drag piston. In my opinion, it's the best 50 on the market.

I'd spool it up with 130lb Jerry brown with a 100lb topshot. You could do a 130lb topshot too. Up to you. If you go with braid, get it on there super tight.

There is no way you need a 130lb reel for yellowfin. An 80 seems big too. I'd do a 50W. If you feel you want something bigger, get the Penn 70.

SoCalAngler

TJ,

I think you may need to revise your question a bit because I'm not sure if your looking for a reel to fish 50 lb test or a 50 sized reel. There is a huge difference between a reel used for 50 lb test and a 50 sized reel.  It looks trolling will be most often used with the reel is this correct? And, if this he case what sized YFT will be targeted?

With a little more info I'm sure you will get the recommendations you are looking for.

foakes

Welcome, TJ --