Rechargeable aerosol spray can

Started by Alto Mare, June 29, 2011, 10:23:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alto Mare

Bryan, this question is directed to you.... or anyone else that could help. I've been buying those aerosol spray can to service my bearings and other parts on my reels and noticed that I'm spending more than I wanted to  on air, so I decided to purchase a rechargeable aerosol spray can. The can comes with a safety valve that prevents overpressurizing it at 90 psi, it works fair but not as good as those precharged cans that I've been buying.Here is my question,  is there any way that I can boost the pressure coming out of the can? Could I add a shot of something that would mix with the air ? :-\
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

broadway

Sal,
     I'm no engineer, but maybe use the ones with the straw to direct the air through a narrow hole instead of letting it escape in the typical conical spray pattern (like a can of WD-40)  :-\.
Dom

Alto Mare

I did try it with the straw also and it was actually slower :-\
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Bryan Young

Why me?  Because I'm fill with a lot of hot air? :)

I believe that pre-filled cans are actually filled at a higher pressure.  With cans filled to 90 PSI considering the size of the can, pressure goes to nill pretty fast.  I have a 3 gallon air compressor and my compressor usually starts during each bearing.  If I use it will a filled tank, and power off, pressure drops pretty fast, and so does the airflow.  The only other option would be liquid gasses, but as it heat up would surely leak because 90 psi is pretty low.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Alto Mare

Thank Bryan, hey if I start up one of my compressors, my wife would kick me out of the house for sure ;D