Patching Bakelite

Started by Crow, September 09, 2017, 06:53:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crow

Hi, ! 
    Somewhere on here, I saw someone (maybe Sid ?) had a trick for patching chips in bakelte....mixing bakelite "fillings" with epoxy. I *assume* you use a clear setting epoxy, but, after that....a 50 /50 mix of dust to epoxy ?  More dust than that ?  Any advice would be appreciated ! I have a 100 Surfmaster with "chips" almost everywhere...both end caps, and also on the edge of the spool. It appears to be a pretty old one...no part #'s on the stand, or handle....and I thought it might be one to "experiment" on.  Thanks !.......Crow
There's nothing wrong with a few "F's" on your record....Food, Fun, Flowers, Fishing, Friends, and Fun....to name just a few !

RowdyW

Hi Crow, yes Sid was the one that did a post on repairing side plates. He also repaired a aluminum spool edge for me. Send him a PM and I'm sure he can steer you to the tutorial on it.         Rudy

Midway Tommy

The ORCA Cleaning, Restoration & Repair Book , third from the bottom of the page, is chock-full of tips from many of the most knowledgeable reel enthusiasts in the world. Every serious collector of older reels, or those who repair them, should have a copy at arm's length.
Love those open face spinning reels! (Especially ABU & ABU/Zebco Cardinals)

Tommy D (ORCA), NE

Favorite Activity? ............... In our boat fishing
RELAXING w/ MY BEST FRIEND (My wife Bonnie)

Crow

Here's a few pix of what I want to try to "patch"....the endplates, will, I *think* be fairly straightforward....the spool...maybe not so much !
There's nothing wrong with a few "F's" on your record....Food, Fun, Flowers, Fishing, Friends, and Fun....to name just a few !

Tiddlerbasher

The reel mice have been busy ;D

Crow