Serviced an old Mitchell 308

Started by festus, October 05, 2017, 07:14:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

festus

A few weeks ago I found a treasure trove of used Mitchell reels, all 300 models except for this lone 308. Cost of the reel? 3 bucks for this classic.

It's so eaten up with rash I couldn't get a number off of the reel foot.  It was working ok,  handle was a wee bit stiff to turn, so I tore it apart.  Don't have a clue how old it could be, but imagine at least 35 years.

This is my first attempt at tearing down a 308.  It's much different than a 300 internally, but I found a three part video on the Mitchell Museum very helpful.

The only problem I encountered was with the anti-reverse spring.  After about 10 minutes of frustration, got the spring finally situated correctly on the dog. The bail spring and trip lever were working fine, so l didn't take them apart, just cleaned inside the rotor a tad.  After clean up, lube, and reassembly, it feels very smooth.  

Mounted it on a used St Croix ultralight 6'6" graphite rod that weighs three ounces.  Cost of the rod? 4 bucks. Spooled it with 4 lb test Mr. Crappie mono, took it outside with a 1/8 sinker and it casts about 25 yards effortlessly.  We live on the edge of deep woods and I didn't want to press my luck and try casting farther, didn't want to tangle in the trees.

So this is a combo I invested 7 bucks into, not counting the line.  Doubt if I could find anything off the shelves of the big box stores for less than 100 bucks any better than this other than looking prettier. I'd rather have this anyway, I mainly fish from shore, sometimes small streams such as this around all kinds of rocks, bluffs, and boulders and don't have to worry about banging up such an inexpensive set up.

mo65

That's a great little reel...perfect for fishing streams and creeks. 8)
~YOU CAN TUNA GEETAR...BUT YOU CAN'T TUNA FEESH~

festus