What is Sushi Grade??

Started by Maxed Out, October 11, 2017, 04:42:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maxed Out

When it comes to fish, I've heard the term "sushi grade" a lot and from what little I find on the subject it seems sushi grade is simply a phrase made up by fish mongers and there is no government entity or any official documentation that sets standards for sushi grade fish.

I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but according to what I've gathered about zero industry standards, anyone can say they're a sushi expert LOL

Ted
We Must Never Forget Our Veterans....God Bless Them All !!

FatTuna

All the tuna fish that we catch are sold to a local dealer who then ships them to Japan. From there, they are sold at auction.  Price is usually determined by supply and demand but also on fish quality. When the dealer looks at the fish, he takes a sliver of tail meat and a core sample to judge it. He is looking at how much fat the fish has. As well as the color of the meat. Sometimes the fish can have diseases or parasites that make them inedible. For example, white cloud. In my opinion, sushi grade fish is simply any fish that is edible raw. Some species of fish are edible but aren't suitable for sushi because they are prone to parasites. These are usually bottom dwellers.

MarkT

In my mind when someone says "sushi grade" they mean it was brought on the boat quickly, brain spiked, bled and put on ice to keep the meat in great shape.
When I was your age Pluto was a planet!

oc1

Sushi grade cuts don't have any of that strong tasting dark stuff either.

A few months ago there was a local outbreak of hepatitis A from consuming raw tuna imported from Indonesia. It was mostly poke cubes but some sashimi too.  The Hawaii health department is telling people to inquire about the source before consuming raw tuna; insinuating that locally landed fish are OK.
-steve

josephcsylvia