Am I nuts?

Started by Swami805, November 26, 2017, 04:57:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Swami805

I'm an arborist (tree guy) by trade and we take down a lot of big trees many times with things underneath that we can't damage. We use pulleys fiddle blocks etc to lower material and gain a mechanical advantage. One pass thru lessens the load by 50% making the job of the man on the end of the line much easier. I've always wondered if this could be applied to fishing using roller guides.
Here's a few pictures of what I was thinking. If there was a load of 50 at the end of the rod the load at the reel would be 25lbs. (the spool of line would be the reel). Does this make sense to anyone one?  The guide design  would need to be different and casting wouldn't be possible but cutting the load on the reel would have to be a good thing right?
Anyone ever seen this tried before?
Am I nuts?
Do what you can with that you have where you are

swill88

Doesn't one of the pulleys need to move?

Like the idea!

Keta

Quote from: swill88 on November 26, 2017, 05:00:08 PM
Doesn't one of the pulleys need to move?

Yes. 

The set up in the photo still is only "1 part of line" and this only adds more friction.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Swami805

The line goes over the top 2 pulleys,back thru the top rod end pulley and out to the under the last pulley to the tip. These guides wouldn't work because the line rubs on the guide frames at a few points. Just to give a idea of how the pulley wheels could work. The top pulley at the rod tip end would bear most of the load. Would need a different design but was trying to show the principal involved. Or I'm just nuts?

Swami805

By the way Lee hope you're feeling better

Crow