Anyone ever use a pier gaff?

Started by FatTuna, December 20, 2017, 04:16:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FatTuna

I've been doing a lot of bridge fishing down south recently. Haven't hooked anything worthy of needing a pier gaff yet but I know that I will need one eventually. I've never used one before, not sure what kind to get. You guys have any tips?

Last year I was fishing the Skyway bridge in Tampa and saw a couple of guys land a  huge king mackerel with one.

I found a few on Ebay that essentially look like a giant bunker snag hook. Any preference on size and weight?

I also found this interesting video on Youtube. This guy is selling these but I'm thinking I could probably try and make one. Not going to lie, it's a pretty innovative design.

Cor

I have used two types of what we call "rope gaffs" and the most popular is one similar to what you see in the video, just larger.

We use them to gaff Yellowtail that we sometimes catch from spots as high as 50ft above the ocean.

They work adequately, but I must say I've never seen a Yellowtail or any other fish rope gaffed as easily as the fish in the video, it is difficult, takes some experience and no fear of heights to do it.   A bridge does make it much easier then some mountainside.

In Australia I've also seen them used.

Cornelis

Tightlines667

The commercial longliners use a spider rope gave, very similar to that one only larger, and all stainless steel to land large swordfish.  

The Ulua shorefishermen often use a single, double or tripple , 'slide gaff' that has a long shank with 2 rings (to slide down the mainline), and 1 ring (to attach a rope) welded on, to land large fish from the rocks or cliffs.  They also make a barrel gaff for dehooking the fish remotely.

Hope springs eternal
for the consumate fishermen.

FatTuna