Cleaning Old Grease

Started by Scattergun2570, January 11, 2018, 02:38:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scattergun2570

I was recently told that denatured alcohol is good for degreasing parts..anyone concur,or disagree?

philaroman

not especially great, but safe for all materials likely to be in a reel  (doesn't have to be denatured, BTW -- that's just to make you puke if you drink it)

Scattergun2570

Quote from: philaroman on January 11, 2018, 04:39:27 AM
not especially great, but safe for all materials likely to be in a reel  (doesn't have to be denatured, BTW -- that's just to make you puke if you drink it)

What do you use?

philaroman

oh, I drink the denatured  :o  ...seriously, though

I'm not a pro -- just tinker w/ my own & friends', so I don't have a US bath or a production line where parts can soak for hours, while other reels get worked.  I want it FAST, so I like acetone for metal parts -- faster than alcohol & zero residue (no rinsing / no drying), unlike water-based detergent solutions...  just keep acetone & its fumes away from plastic & paint (and lungs)

johndtuttle

Dawn detergent and a tooth brush.

If its old and caked on, Corrosion-x and a tooth brush.

The pros that don't have the time to do it that way use an ultrasonic cleaner and simple green or the like or other more powerful stuff. If you are just doing your own reels no need to get too crazy about it.

PacRat

WD-40 and a toothbrush. WD-40 is a great solvent and is safe for plastic but not so safe for stickers and labels. On the other hand; if you have old line weight labels that you want to remove WD-40 will take them off and clean up the residue.
Mike

philaroman

WD-40 works great, but leaves its own residue that doesn't play nice w/ lubricants -- you have to rinse it off thoroughly

PacRat