Reel upgrades - where to start question

Started by Jnorris, February 18, 2018, 03:26:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jnorris

First post and would like to start by thanking Alan and everyone else who helps make this such a great site! I'm a rookie but this board helped me tear down (clean / lube) and reassemble my first 2 reels. I have a decent collection of reels and decided to start maintaining and upgrading some of them. I fish freshwater only... everything from Muskie to Crappie but the majority will be casting for Muskie.

I was curious if anyone could help point me in the right direction concerning which upgrades would be best and for which reels. I want to upgrade a few but not sure which reels would benefit the most from specific upgrades (bearings, drag washers, levelwind, polishing, etc).

My primary Muskie reels are an Abu Morrum M5600C, Abu Revo Toro Winch, Shimano Tranx 300, and Abu Record 60. I also have a 1972 Abu Ambassador 5000, 1983 Abu 5500C, Penn Peerless #9, and some line counters (Okuma) and spinning reels.

I cleaned / lubed the Morrum and removed a bearing shield from one side of the spool bearings but I didnt notice much difference in free spool after removing the bearing shields. I wondered if I should do the same with the levelwind bearings or possibly upgrade to ceramic bearings...

Any tips / advice is appreciated.

Jim

MarkT

Did you lube those now opened spool bearings with TSI-321?
When I was your age Pluto was a planet!

Jnorris

I cleaned them with carb cleaner and used Abu reel oil... is TSI-321 a lot better? If so I'll be ordering some...

Bryan Young

First and foremost upgrade is to be sure that all reels have greased carbon fiber drag washers.  I would use Cal's purple grease as I believe you are fishing in the cold some of the time.

Next is TSI321 on your bearings and blow off excess.  It's an amazing lubricant.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D