Beefing up a Penn 501

Started by CFish, February 28, 2018, 10:11:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CFish

So I have a 501 Jigmaster that is in great shape and I would like to put it back into full use.  I'm basically looking for info on where to get everything I plan on upgrading. It already has a Tiburon frame but from here what is the next step? I would definitely like to upgrade to 5:1 gears to improve the speed.  At this point, I'd also assume a new gear sleeve is necessary as well?  Would upgrading to carbonex drag washers give me much more drag over the stock washers?  As far as a handle, it already had a Penn power handle but I wouldn't mind something of a newer style.  I know these are probably the standard upgrades for these reels and would love to find sources for these parts.

Thanks

xjchad

CFish,
You've certainly come to the right place!
All of the parts you're looking for are available right here from some awesome guys that make great parts!
I'd start by browsing through the different vendors in the For Sale section.  I think you can find all the parts you need there.
Bryan Young has a great upgraded drag kit.  Motive Fab has handles and a drag insert kit.  Alan has handles and gear sleeves. Cortez conversions has a ton of parts.  Along with many of the other guys there.  The hard part is not finding the parts, it's deciding WHICH parts!  They are all high quality and great guys to work with!
Husband, Father, Fisherman

handi2

You can easily build a $300.00 reel.
OCD Reel Service & Repair
Gulf Breeze, FL

CFish

Quote from: handi2 on February 28, 2018, 10:35:32 PM
You can easily build a $300.00 reel.

That's kinda what I was afraid of..

handi2

Since you have the frame it wont be as costly. You can buy an entire frame and sideplates here . That's where the $300.00 comes from. That's a custom reel with everything available for it.