Tyrnos 50 2speed LRS vs TLD50 2speed and Corrosion X vs TSI 321

Started by Joao Tavares, July 09, 2018, 12:09:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joao Tavares

Hi all

Newbie here trying to learn as much as possible from this great site.

What are your thoughts of the advantages and disadvantages comparison between the above-mentioned reels? The schematics make them look the same from what I can perceive.

Also, how do you compare Corrosion X with TSI 321?

Thank you
João

ScottOz

Hi Joao,
            I had the same ? When getting my reel.Imo it depends on what line class you intend to fish.If only 50lb I would have went the tld purely because I think maintence would have been easier long term with less corrosion Issues.I end up getting the tyrnos because I wanted a reel for sharking off the beach.Has 500mtr of braid backing approx 200mtr of 80lb mono topshot.Bigggest shark so far was it's first catch of a 8'6" bull shark off the beach and when the tyrnos was put in low gear the shark never had a chance.I did a full strip down and corossion control grease up.Hope this help a bit.Cheers Scott

boon

Tyrnos has a metal frame, TLD is graphite/plastic/whatever they are calling it now.

Donnyboat

Hi Joao, my experience with Shimano reels is, dont get me wrong, they do make a good product, with a life time garrantee, which is 10 years, but you will be lucky to get parts for the reel after 8 years, where as most Penn reels even models made around 1950, you can still get parts for them, good luck, cheers Don.
Don, or donnyboat

Joao Tavares

If I understand it right, the only difference between the two of them is the frame. The TLD's is graphite whereas the Tyrnos is metal (Hargane).

Now still wondering the difference/application of TSI321 vs Corrosion X.

Both used for same purposes?

Cheers

FatTuna