Howdy - from Alvin, TX

Started by fishing_tx, October 19, 2018, 02:51:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fishing_tx

Always good to find a great resource.  I started working on reels about a year ago, and I hurt my back in a fall a few months ago, so I have had quite a bit of time on my hands (can't kayak right now).  I started getting "serious" about this as things I couldn't do 9 months ago, I can do now.  I'm very much used to working on small things as I grew up working on RC cars, so bearings and gears are very common to me.  Kayak fishing kind of necessitated my learning to work on reels.  In the saltwater bays here, and in often unkind conditions at night, I've had many "incidents" and my reels just plain "get soaked".  Over the years, I've decreased that by using forward mounted rod holders while handling fish, but anyway.  I've been fishing since I was probably six years old or earlier.  I can't remember, but my father fished every chance he got to in the saltwater when we travelled to the Outer Banks as a kid.  Mostly we targeted bluefish from the beach on sand fleas (we called them sand crabs), and spots and croakers from the pier, and we'd go on charter trips for more interesting fair.  I still have the first "good" reel that my dad got me on one of those trips in the mid '80s, a Daiwa Whisker W4000.  It was pretty solid, and as I can see by the long running and even current offerings from Daiwa, a design that stood the test of time.  I have restored it.  Anyway, I am deep in it with the addiction to reels now - mostly reels that work for Redfish and Bass from the kayak or boats.  I have a Skiff being built right now, this week it is in rigging,  will share when complete.  I don't do much surf fishing, though that could change with the purchase of the right vehicle to get to where I need to go last year as well (4x4).