Isn't it just the way lever drag reels are?

Started by nelz, December 30, 2018, 08:11:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nelz

I am constantly reading from users of lever drag reels, how they get harder turn as the drag ramps up. I also constantly see replies that it's a bad pinion bearing causing it.

Yes, a bad pinion bearing will exacerbate the issue, but isn't it to some degree just the way lever drag reels are as a consequence of design? I've never handled a LD reel that didn't get harder turn as the drag increased. At what point is a bad pinion bearing the cause?

alantani

it's usually pretty easy to tell the difference!   ;D
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

nelz

Quote from: alantani on December 30, 2018, 08:24:32 PM
it's usually pretty easy to tell the difference!   ;D

I'm new to LD Alan, how do know? Details!

Santa brought me a Omoto Talos 10n-hg. Nice little reel, fantastic free-spool and it does not lose any free-spool at any drag setting. However, you guessed it... handle gets harder to turn as the drag increased.

handi2

The Omoto reels are a great dependable reel. Just like the Avet's. I know what you are trying to get an answer for but its still hard to answer.

All of the smaller LD reels like you have will do this. There is a fine line between easy and stiff cranking and its all because of lever drag system. By increasing the drag setting the lever is pulling everything tighter together. Once it gets over tightened exceeding the limits of the bearings it gets harder to turn the handle.

With the lager LD reels you dont see it as much as they can handle the higher drag settings.
OCD Reel Service & Repair
Gulf Breeze, FL

nelz

Quote from: handi2 on December 30, 2018, 09:48:13 PMOnce it gets over tightened exceeding the limits of the bearings it gets harder to turn the handle.