Anodizing at home

Started by mhc, April 13, 2019, 11:04:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mhc

I'll start off by saying this is in no way meant to be a 'how to' post - I am a complete novice at anodizing who has recently started doing a few home trials to see if the process is as easy as the multitude of 'how to home anodize' guides on the net would suggest. The intention is to share my experiments and invite others that have tried anodizing to share their experiences as well as any advice, suggestions, tips, criticism, etc.

I'll give a little background to the process I'm trialing. Many of the 'how to' guides reference the Caswell low current density system (LCD) which appears to be a widely used home anodizing system (I don't have any affiliation or arrangement with Caswell but I did find their free online guide useful http://www.caswellplating.com.au/LCD.pdf). After sifting through a few of the online 'how to guides', I found this YouTube 'how to' guide

to be a good one to start with – it explains the basic LCD process and is pretty simple to follow.  More or less following that guide and using the '720 Rule Anodizing calculator' from Caswell's support forum to determine amperage settings and run times,  http://www.ndhsubmersiblescience.com/ano/720rule.html my initial few trials were encouraging at first but later trials were not as successful.

My tank set up;
•   Constant current power supply with 5 Amp / 30 Volt capacity
•   Two lead sheet cathodes and titanium racking wires connected to an aluminium bar
•   12% by weight H2SO4 bath (dilute battery acid)
•   Cheap aquarium air pump and aerator disks to agitate the bath

The first three trials with the red dye were timed to produce a 0.5, 0.7 and 1.0 MIL layer (1 MIL is approximately 0.001" and around the limit of LCD) at 6 ASF from left to right in pairs;