Tinning Pot, Flux - Soldering questions

Started by Gobi King, January 07, 2021, 04:33:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gobi King

Finally received the soldering iron I bought off ama,
Aoyue 469

Making 1/0 to 6 awg cables for connections for my lithium project.

Tinning wire leads - using my tiny soldering iron it will probably take me days to tin chunky monkeys like a 1/0 cable.

I read some suggestion on using a tinning pot.

Tinning Pot - which one? use pure tin without Pb? can I just get a stainless little pot and use my burner on the gas grill to melt it?

Flux - newbie here, use the same flux as I use for soldering?

Shibs - aka The Gobi King
Fichigan

handi2

You can just flux the wires then add solder. Don't get the wires too hot. Just hot enough to where the solder flows nicely. The solder will only adhere where the flux is applied. Use solid wire solder. Any flux for soldering will work. Acid flux cleans as it heats.
OCD Reel Service & Repair
Gulf Breeze, FL

cmdrzog

If you have a propane torch they make soldering tips that will do the job.  Its been a while (50 years) since I did soldering(production & hobby) but  60/40 or 63/37 w/ rosin flux core is the way to go, ,acid flux no go w/ electric circuits.  Kester  is a time tested brand

jzman

The pointed tip that most soldering irons come with are pretty bad for wires (and everything else).  The best tips for wires are the chisel tip and the bevel (hoof) tip.

For big wires probably easier to use copper crimp lugs (the welding cable lugs) and use a hydraulic or hammer crimper.  This is if you have bolt-on terminals.

oc1

I wouldn't mess with the irons and just use a BernzOmatic torch.  It will throw the heat evenly and get the wire up to temperature fast before scale can form.

Use rosin flux paste and solder labeled for electrical work.
-steve

Gobi King

Big #### flame to heat the wire and solder as usual, got it.

Yes, I have the harborfright hyro crimper.