Tutorial AVET JX Single Speed Reel: Teardown, Inspect, Clean, Lube, Reassembly

Started by josa1, January 01, 2014, 11:20:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

josa1

07/11/2017 Just completed transferring pictures from Photobucket hosted to being hosted by this site. I am so happy to have the first of a few posts corrected.  :D

I recently purchased an Avet JX 6/1 single speed reel from a seller on Bloody Decks.  The reel came with 65 pound spectra, approximately 100 yard top shot of 40 pound smoke grey mono and a rod clamp and that was it.  My purpose of buying the reel was to fish it for wahoo on either bait, jigs or bombs on the Red Rooster III June Heat trip next year.  Here are some pictures of how the reel looked.....

I was very happy with the price I paid and the seller was happy.  All in all a good deal for all concerned.

Well, you know where this leads!  My first inclination is to strip the reel and see what I actually bought.  As this is my very first time to service an Avet I might make some mistakes and would not be sorry to hear from you for any clarification you can provide.

Well, first things first.....I began by reading and studying Alan's tutorial on the Avet MX.

I then downloaded the schematic from Avet's web site and gave that a thorough look see.  I'm not sure this is the actual schematic for this reel as I've found a couple of minor differences.  For instance, this reel has the unglued drag washer and instead has the retaining ring holding the drag washer in place on the spool.  I'm glad about that.

Here we go.....

First, remove the mono and discard.  Remove the spectra and store on a spare spool.

The next step is to remove the three right side plate screws.  I inspected the screws and the reel body after removal to be sure there was no corrosion.  In this case they looked fine.

Remove the right side plate and spool assembly as a unit and set aside.  This is just like the MX.