Old Florida flyreel

Started by joefrasc, February 06, 2014, 04:35:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joefrasc

Where would I purchase a cork drag disc for a model 66 Old Florida flyreel
Thanks in advance
Joe

alantani

not sure about the availability of cork, but i'd bet the cork in this reel could be switched out for greased carbon fiber.
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

joefrasc

Alan
the cork in this drag set up is glued to one side of the part, does carbon lend it self to being glued and if so what type of glue
thanks for your response
Joe

Ken_D

Caveat: I have no first hand knowledge about carbon in this reel. Nautilus scooped O.F. several years ago, and may have cork parts. Islander in Canada may be able to help as well. The Islander uses cork.

That said, unless the contact face of the P.F. reel is steel, not aluminum, I suspect that the carbon would chew it up pretty fast.

jurelometer

The OFs have cork glued onto the pawl disk.  It is pulled tight against the spool surface.   

I think that most, if not all Old Florida reels use the same sized clutch pawl disk with the glued on cork disk.  I will double check and report back.

I was able to get a new OF reel foot from Nautilus, shortly after they bought OF and discontinued the reels.  At the time, they said that they were not going to be supplying OF parts, but it is worth a try.

I have one OF reel that is missing a chunk of cork, and it works fine.  Cork is very forgiving.   If the problem is the cork getting sticky, you probably can clean and lube your way out of the problem.

I have been looking for cork drag material for years, and could never find it in non  industrial/quantities.  Regular fine grain cork sheets might work, but the acrylic used to bind the material  might be too sensitive to lubricants, solvents and heat.  OTOH, cork drags cannot get too hot anyways.