Avet LX Reassemle Problem

Started by egarratt14, November 29, 2014, 07:52:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

egarratt14

Benn putting this off for a couple of weeks now.  Note I am a complete rookie.

Took apart and reassembled an SX and MX.  Did the same for my LX, and it is not coming back together.  Everything on the spindle seems fine, but when I slide the side plate on and wiggle it into position, I am always left with a gap between the spool and the side plate.  I have tried everything.

The last pix is the most descriptive of the actual problem.

akfish

Do you have the pinion gear upside down? If so, it won't fit in the pinion bearing and you'll be left with that gap.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

alantani

i always put the right side plate and spool together first, then align the crosspin on the left side of the spool shaft with the left side plate and put it all together. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

handi2

Quote from: alantani on November 29, 2014, 10:29:29 PM
i always put the right side plate and spool together first, then align the crosspin on the left side of the spool shaft with the left side plate and put it all together.  

Much easier to do it this way so you are not fighting the drag plate and pinion alignment. Put the right side together first by holding the spool in you left hand (if you are right handed) and align the spool shaft, drag plate and pinion gear. Push it all together so the end of the spool shaft sticks out and install the clutch lever.
OCD Reel Service & Repair
Gulf Breeze, FL

egarratt14

Great.  I will give that a shot in the morning.

SoCalAngler