Newell S229-5 spools a,b and c ?

Started by Redfish King, April 27, 2014, 11:26:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Redfish King

I need a spool for a Newell S229-5 preferably aluminum but I found there is an A,B and C spool for this reel
what is the difference in the 3 spools?

alantani

hey, newell guys!  doesn't a penn 140 spool work here?
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

bluefish69

I think a 140 spool will fit a 235.

Mike
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Newell Nut

What I have run into is the shaft length is different with Newells and penns. Don't know about all but that was the case on a 332 that I bought as a Newell and it was for a penn.
As far as ABC you will find that metal and graphite will work except that the sprocket on a metal one may wear out the plastic clicker on the S series. Any 229 spool will fit except maybe from a Blackie. I have zero experience with a Blackie. If you don't use a clicker much you should be fine with a Newell metal spool.

Redfish King

I live and die by the clicker.So my reel problem is the spool shaft.The reel came from ebay and I was putting in a tib frame and checking everything out and found for some reason someone took a dremal

to the shaft end on the left side. So I really only need a spool shaft.I have never replaced a spool shaft on a newell before do they come out easily?

bluefish69

As far as I know you have to replace the whole spool
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Newell Nut

They press out okay on one made by Tiburon but I don't know about the original Newells. Is it too late to return it? Check with chowderpuff7@yahoo.com. He did warranty work for Newell and can be a big help.

Tunacious

I'm not sure what you're asking... ???