Abu 3600 Black Max help

Started by Bigmike1984, April 15, 2014, 01:06:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bigmike1984

Got one the other day was going to work on it.

Got it all apart clean oiled and what not. Put it back together and it does not cast  by cast I mean the line does not come out smooth.

My ?'s are.......

1. Is there a tutorial on 3600s?

2. On the black max. Is the level wind go back-and-forth when it cast? If it is not working what part is it that makes it stop working?

3. What size bearings are in the spool?

As always thanks for any help and info guys!

johndtuttle

Hey there,I'm no expert on small freshwater baitcast reels but will try and help.  ;)

1. The basic concepts of any level wind reel are the same and the tutorial on a 6500 will point you in the general direction.

2. I don't think that the level wind goes back and forth when casting on the Black Max (relatively inexpensive reel). I have also found that when the line on the spool and the level wind guide are out of "sync" ie the guide is far from where the line comes off the spool then casting is nearly impossible.

What you have to do is strip out enough line to get them closer in sync then the new wraps that come on when you crank it back on will be over the guide and smooth casting returns.

The spool has to have an "idle gear" to drive the guide otherwise.

3. Sorry no help on the bearings ;).

best

bassgod

I will chime in as an owner of a few pro max 3600, essentially the same reel.

2. the level wind does disengage for the cast so it does not follow the line during the cast, however it does engage when line is being stripped and the reel is in gear.  to me this seems fine for bass fishing since you're not likely to have a fish taking out more than the distance you've cast, but once it gets past the distance you have cast the line and levelwind will likely be out of sync. someone correct me if i am wrong on this.