Isla / Catalina Help!!

Started by Reverendpdp, August 03, 2016, 10:11:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Reverendpdp

Hello fellow anglers.
I'm a newbie to reel repair and feel that I'm a little over my head with my new Catalina 5000H.  I heard the reel will perform better with carbon washers, so I went ahead and purchased the 5 washer set, along with some Cal's Grease.  When I get to the stock washers, I'm noticing two things.  First the stock washers look to carbon fiber as well.  Now they're not as coarse, but they look to be a finer grade of carbon.  So I'm wondering if this is something new?  Secondly I'm only seeing three carbon washers, while the new kit has 5.  Am I just replacing the 3, or am I adding all 5?  If so where do the other 2 go?  
Lastly, this is not related to the reel per se, but why is it that one reel manufacturer tells you DO NOT get grease on the washers (i.e. Avet), while others tell you to cover the whole surface in grease?

foakes

If you bought the 5 drag set from Bryan, Alan, Dawn at Smooth Deag, or Scott's --

The height of the CFs and the SS washers in a 5 stack -- will be the same as a 3 stack.

The washers are thinner -- allowing the extra surface area for more drag.

Different companies have different opinions on greased drags or not.

However, thanks to Alan and others -- many more manufacturers are coming around to greased CF's.

If you want more drag, smoother drag through all ranges, life-long lasting drags, and salt water resistant -- go with a 5 stack and Cal's grease.

Sounds like you already have what you need.

Welcome!

Best,

Fred
The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------

The first rule of fishing is to fish where the fish are. The second rule of fishing is to never forget the first rule.

"Enjoy the little things in Life — For someday, you may look back — and realize that they were the big things"