Spring thrust washers?

Started by jzumi, December 15, 2016, 09:36:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jzumi

Servicing my buddy's MXL 5.8, following the excellent tutorial.  My friend bought this reel brand new from OPS and this is the first time it's been serviced.  When I disassembled the reel, the 2 spring thrust washers were not present.  No, they weren't stuck to the bearings.  They appear to be MIA.

This reel has landed many salmon and has performed flawlessly this way.  Should I go through the trouble to obtain and install the washers or just put it back the way it was?

I'm no seasoned pro so be gentle with your suggestions.  Third grade reading level appreciated, too!  Apologies to any non-gentle third graders.

Thanks,
John

Tightlines667

Quote from: jzumi on December 15, 2016, 09:36:53 PM
Servicing my buddy's MXL 5.8, following the excellent tutorial.  My friend bought this reel brand new from OPS and this is the first time it's been serviced.  When I disassembled the reel, the 2 spring thrust washers were not present.  No, they weren't stuck to the bearings.  They appear to be MIA.

This reel has landed many salmon and has performed flawlessly this way.  Should I go through the trouble to obtain and install the washers or just put it back the way it was?

I'm no seasoned pro so be gentle with your suggestions.  Third grade reading level appreciated, too!  Apologies to any non-gentle third graders.

Thanks,
John