Does anybody do marbeling on wraps?

Started by gstours, December 18, 2016, 04:35:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gstours

I got into marbeling the hard way, self taught.   I would like to tank to others and see some of their work? ???

Bill B

I can barely do a straight wrap, but sure someone will chime in.....Bill
It may not be very productive,
but it's sure going to be interesting!

day0ne

Talk to Jon Vadney in his section of this board. He does some of the prettiest marbling I have seen.
David

"Lately it occurs to me: What a long, strange trip it's been." - R. Hunter

Jeri

Hi,

We do a fair bit of marbling, as and when clients ask for it. Generally for decorations and not critical areas, we marble straight onto the blank after a prep coat of clear resin.

Over guide wraps/whippings, we tend to wrap the rings in black thread, then a light coat of resin to set and hold the ring in place. The following day we then apply the marbling - very carefully to avoid getting it all over the rings. Let it all dry, then the following day a coat of clear resin.

Marbling with all the fluid nature of the material is very much a case of developing your own style in how you handle and finish the material - it can be done very subtly, or in the opposite extreme - very load and busy, and just about every combination in between. Something to think about is to get a section of spare blank, and try different ways of handling the material and getting it onto the blank, then try different ways of finishing it, with needle dragging or soft spirals of needle dragging, as the whole lot turns in a machine. Another aspect is how much fluidity you achieve with the heat gun when you finish, this can achieve great results or an absolute disaster.

These were trying to emulate the new Winn grip colour scheme on the handle, and then take the theme over the rings.