Penn 150 Surfmaster

Started by JoePlo, February 01, 2015, 09:22:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

broadway

I know this thread is from a couple years ago, but the star is backwards... numbers go on the inside.
Dom

Reel 224

Better late then never Dom ;) I think your the first to spot that.

the other Joe
"I don't know the key to success,but the key to failure is trying to please everyone."

Decker

Quote from: broadway on February 21, 2017, 02:45:24 AM
I know this thread is from a couple years ago, but the star is backwards... numbers go on the inside.
Dom

I'm a novice at this stuff... if the star is flat on both sides, what difference would it make which side is up (other than cosmetic)?   Reminds me of something else... when replacing the reel seat on a Penn, I wonder which way it is supposed to face, front to back... :P

Keta

The 113 and 114 size have butress threads , the 60 size doesn't though.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Decker

Quote from: Keta on February 21, 2017, 03:08:33 PM
The 113 and 114 size have butress threads , the 60 size doesn't though.

Buttress threads - had to google that one. Thanks.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buttress_thread 

sdlehr

Quote from: Decker on February 21, 2017, 02:26:43 PM
Quote from: broadway on February 21, 2017, 02:45:24 AM
Dom

I'm a novice at this stuff... if the star is flat on both sides, what difference would it make which side is up (other than cosmetic)?   Reminds me of something else... when replacing the reel seat on a Penn, I wonder which way it is supposed to face, front to back... :P
The star direction is purely cosmetic. It functions the same backward and forward. I suppose like the stand, they had to put a number on one side, which makes the part have a directionality it didn't have when there was no part number.

Sid
Sid Lehr