5500 C3 with AR dog (foot number 99-02-02)

Started by work2fish, September 05, 2023, 01:01:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

JasonGotaProblem

His look to me like abu hard washers. But I'm no expert, and I'm wrong a lot. I will, however, send some fresh cut carbons out if w2f wants to pm me his address.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

work2fish

That's a beautiful fish, Sciaenops! What's the rod that your Ambassadeur is on in the picture?

This reel is from 2002. I'm not sure what the drag washers are made out of, but they feel almost like plastic to me, and they're thicker than the carbontex drag washers I bought, and much thicker than the washers in the other used Ambassadeur I have, which is from 2007. I'm pretty sure those are carbon fiber.

I'm sure the stock drag is fine for my normal fishing in PA, where a 5-10 lb channel catfish or carp is a nice fish, but I hope to do some saltwater fishing with it someday.

Mark

work2fish

Quote from: Keta on September 05, 2023, 09:33:30 PMCF is CF, if yours are ABU CF use them.

My other Ambassadeur is from 2007, and I think it has the Abu carbon fiber washers. On this reel, which is from 2002 the washers are thicker and feel like plastic to me.

Quote from: JasonGotaProblem on September 05, 2023, 09:50:47 PMHis look to me like abu hard washers. But I'm no expert, and I'm wrong a lot. I will, however, send some fresh cut carbons out if w2f wants to pm me his address.

They are thick and feel like plastic to me, so you're probably right! Thanks for the offer of the fresh cut carbons, but I had already bought some for my other Ambassadeur before I realized that it already had carbon. I can use those.

Mark

sciaenops