Older 9/0 questions

Started by Shellbelly, October 27, 2021, 03:17:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shellbelly

I picked up a pair of 9/0 plates with rings with some trim parts installed.  First, in case my pics don't work, both plates are single lug, one inner ring is single lug w/o # and the other is 2-lug w/#.   The gear side is a 7 o'clock part, 3 o'clock logo with sleeve bearing and no#'s, coin edge lever.  Eccentric has no# and spring is present. The clicker side is missing the bearing and the inside shows the milling pattern.  The ring w/# is obviously not consistent and will be set aside.  I haven't removed the outer rings b/c they're pretty tight and I don't want to be a moe-ron.  Also. I've never before noticed the indention with very small "grease" spelled in it...oh, the oiler is missing it's ball. It may be jammed inside, I hope.

Overall condition is good, but not great or exceptional.  Bakelite is still shiny.  Being a novice, I estimate these parts to be post war, pre 1951.  How'd I do??

Next, I believe this is worthy of a build out to original specs.  Which spool(s?), stand, etc., and internals would be correct for this model?  As for shiny parts, would these be nickel or chrome?  Mixing the two metal finishes just looks funky. Then, there's the handle and knob challenge as well.  I have 3 other 9/0's but they're later models, 2 w/ ball bearings and the third is a numbered 3 o'clock logo w/bushings.

I would use one of the newest bb reels as a donor if any of the parts are correct...which is something I don't know.

I enjoy bringing a box of decent parts back to life.  It adds a personal attachment to the shelf space for me as well as a bit of a story about the quest.  I guess you could say it's a self imposed apprenticeship.

Anyway, I am open to advice and resources and what about them Astros!  (Be nice)
"Little boy,  you can get glad in the same pants you just got mad in."  (My Momma)