Heavy duty reel seats on a spinner

Started by JasonGotaProblem, January 17, 2022, 01:13:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeri

Quote from: Gfish on January 20, 2022, 07:25:52 PM
The Alps reference from sciaenops looks pretty tough(wonder what G-22 means), darn expensive though.

Looks like a mimic of the Fuji DPS-H that has been around for a long time.

sciaenops

QuoteLooks like a mimic of the Fuji DPS-H that has been around for a long time

This. Like I said, I have no experience with their graphite components, but have plenty of Batson/Alps metal stuff on my rods. Very good quality/value imo. Time will tell on my spinner....

QuoteInsert Quote
The Alps reference from sciaenops looks pretty tough(wonder what G-22 means), darn expensive though.

?? at $6?

Gfish

Ok. Looked at the wrong #. $6 seems great if it's as tuff as it looks.
Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

philaroman

bought 4 or 5 alps tip tops @ 20% off, but 1 had defect -- bump/deformity on actual ceramic ring  :o
considering low price, not worth returning, but so much for 20% savings...  still good price/quality for remaining tip tops
HOWEVER, a guide is easily examined before and/or replaced after install...  would HATE same scenario w/ seat

JasonGotaProblem

Not gonna lie if fuji had a metal reel seat i likely woulda just ordered it without starting this wonderful thread. It was moving away from fuji that drew the question to begin with.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

oldmanjoe

Have you looked at Lakeland  reel seats ?     They come brass  and Aluminum .

Grandpa`s words of wisdom......Joey that thing between your shoulders is not a hat rack.....    use it.....
A mind is like a parachute, it only work`s  when it is open.......
The power of Observation   , It`s all about the Details ..
 Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.   Alto Mare

MarkT