Jigmaster 501

Started by LanceV, February 12, 2023, 03:31:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LanceV

Hello all. Just picked up a 501 in great condition, was planning on replacing with the 5+1 cabontex drag washers SS gear sleeve and possibly a Tiburon frame. Was wondering I noticed a little side to side motion in the handle which I think is normal but it bothers me... sorry kind of a perfectionists. Anyway I think this has been brought up before but was wondering if anybody could throw me some ideas about how to eliminate this. Im new to upgrading these I just retired and always looking for new things to do. If anyone could give me some info on shim sizes and where to get or belevilles and where to place them and sizes. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Rancanfish

Good morning lance. I think McMaster Carr is a good first place to check.  Go to the dedicated Penn thread here and you can get lost reading for a while.

Congrats on the new retirement.

If you need any parts for the Jiggy's let me know I have a bunch of leftovers. Might even have a frame floating around. I say might because I just haven't played with my reels in about 15 months. I bought a fixer upper home and it keeps me busy. I have a couple like new 506's too.
I woke today and suddenly nothing happened.

Keta

First measure the OD of the gearsleeve.
Second measure the thrust (side movement)
Deduct .005-.010 from the thrust measurement and that is the thickness for the shim washer.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Gfish