Abu Ambassaduer 6500 C3 CT Mag Elite Bearings Removal.

Started by hotajax, April 16, 2023, 06:39:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hotajax

I want to dunk these in TSI-321 overnight. I studied the spool, and on the right side, the brake block side, I see an external clip holding the brake block carrier in.  How do you remove that clip, given the size of it and the very limited amount of space to insert a tool?  Looking like a dental pick is an option.  How do you get it out?   Thanks.  Hot Ajax.

JasonGotaProblem

Gotta remove the c-clip holding it in with a pick then pop off the cover with a small flathead and the bearing just falls out. There's a small brass spring washer behind it. Don't lose it. That's needed for the spool control knob to work.

Soak the bearings in a solvent, then clean out the solvent, then add tsi. No need to soak in TSI.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

ExcessiveAngler

And to add to what Jason said!
The e-clip to the handle and the wire retaining clip that holds the brake block in place, are very well known for just loving to play, a serious game of hide and seek!
Unfortunately, the game never ends though!
So, I always use a magnetized tool and do it inside a clear plastic bag!
All joking aside, probably could have a new reel sitting here at a couple bucks a pop, it adds up quick lol!

hotajax

Quote from: JasonGotaProblem on April 16, 2023, 01:17:47 PMGotta remove the c-clip holding it in with a pick then pop off the cover with a small flathead and the bearing just falls out. There's a small brass spring washer behind it. Don't lose it. That's needed for the spool control knob to work.

Soak the bearings in a solvent, then clean out the solvent, then add tsi. No need to soak in TSI.
So will the TSI just creep in between the shields and the races, or do you remove the shields?  Thanks for answering up.  Much appreciated.

UKChris1