What supplies do I need, and how do I . . .

Started by Squidder Bidder, June 07, 2023, 06:44:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Squidder Bidder

. . . add a Fuji rubber gimbal butt cap to a production rod with an existing cork grip? I'm talking about this product:

https://mudhole.com/products/fuji-rubber-gimbal-butt-caps-model-grc?currency=USD&variant=34384485318789&utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=Google%20Shopping&utm_campaign=gs-2021-09-24&utm_source=google&utm_medium=smart_campaign&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIiqz2neKx_wIVBpfICh0CsgnkEAQYASABEgKsoPD_BwE

I assume I need to carefully cut the cork around the butt end and remove it - what is the best way to do this? I then assume I need to make tape arbor(s) and epoxy the new butt on to the exposed blank. Is there anything I'm missing? Any tips for a professional-looking job? I have no rod building experience but would like to learn, and this might be a good way to start.

The rubber gimbals really work for our situation in orienting the rods in rod holders so that they don't rotate in the holders, seem like they'd be less likely to jump out of the holders on the run out, and make orienting rods for dead sticking possible.

Thanks in advance, Ohana.

JasonGotaProblem

If you want a clean end result you need a very clean cut. Best way to do that is to set up 2 sets of rollers and a means to hold the knife perpendicular to the rod. Then roll the rod with the knife held steady and you'll get a nice clean cut. Test fit before you call the cut finished. If it ain't perfect go an eighth inch up.and try again. Make sure you remove all the existing glue chunks and cork chunks or it'll be surprisingly difficult to get the new butt cap on straight.

I almost never use tape arbors for anything, I prefer to build up an arbor with cotton yarn. Epoxy soaks in and gives a much happier end result.