ProGear Albacore Special 280 - drag

Started by bradz, April 17, 2012, 02:21:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bradz

I am trying to work out if this reel should have some forward and backward play in the spool.
It is as if the spool shaft is not sitting far enough into the back of the Pinion. I have checked that the yoke and its screws are in the right place; I have made sure the bearing is sitting nicely.
Holding the handle still the spool can be moved forward and backwards about 1/4 inch. Is this meant to happen? If not, what could it be?
I cant recall if it had this play when I first received it and now I am paranoid.

reelgood

I think I have noticed what you are talking about on many reels including the Saltiga 20 and 30, it disappears when there is any amount of tension on the spool and is only apparent when playing with the reel with the spool in your hand, could be wrong though  ???

Brendan

I am new to pro gear reels but I noticed that little bit of play in the handle on the three reels I have dealt with.
Tight lines, Brendan.

Bryan Young

This is common in all of my PG reels.  Not to worry.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

bradz

Fantastic. I thought for a while there that I may have busted something.

I will give an update on the drag situation in a few weeks time.

Cheers everyone.

bradz

OK.
Well, Randy got me the new drag washers. They were a little too large so I had to file them down to size.

Greased them up with Cals and have installed. The drag is smoother but I am still not getting past about 18lbs of drag. Do the washers need to bed in or something before they are up to full power?

Would changing the bellevue washers increase the drag?

As mentioned previously, I only really want to run about 18lbs of drag but the reels are supposed to put out 30lbs of drag.

Any more suggestions that I may be missing?

Cheers
Brad

alantani