Abu 5600 C4 HSC service question.

Started by Nicko_Cairns, January 20, 2015, 05:34:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nicko_Cairns

Hi guys,

I'm still new to servicing and I have two of these reels.

I've removed the side plate (the schematic on the Abu site just has numbers! not part names), part number 1117002 and there's a bearing inside, just wondering which way this bearing should come out? It seems pretty stuck.

Any upgrades I should do? I was going to put carbontex in the drag but it looks like it might already have them? Will see more closely in a minute when I remove the washers. Whiffle spool looks like a good idea, any others? Thanks.

Nicko_Cairns

Here's a picture of the side plate and bearing, also one of the bearings in the spool seems corroded and won't come out  the only thing I can think of is removing all the line from the spool then soaking in WD40 or bolt off or something? I've even tried pushing it from the other side of the spool...

Nicko_Cairns

Who doesn't love a photo of a corroded/stuck bearing!  :P

alantani

the anti-reverse bearing has to be carefully pressed out from a top/down direction.  the collar holding the ar bearing is peened in.  both the collar and the frame are easily damaged if not properly supported.
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Nicko_Cairns

Quote from: alantani on January 20, 2015, 06:39:43 AM
the anti-reverse bearing has to be carefully pressed out from a top/down direction.  the collar holding the ar bearing is peened in.  both the collar and the frame are easily damaged if not properly supported.

Thank you Alan, can anyone help with advice for the spool bearing? Remove the line and soak on bolt off or similar perhaps?

mhc

Hi Nicko,
You don't need to remove the IAR bearing unless it is damaged/ slipping. If you are doing a general service there are a few ideas on flushing and coating with a light oil, reel-x, tsi321, etc in this post started by 'Pro Reel'