Hollow Braid

Started by Rivverrat, August 13, 2015, 09:08:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rivverrat

I've been using Toro Tamer Hollow exclusively for over 2 years now. I am fully aware that braid has issue when it comes to abrasion.
With that being said, are there any hollow braids that stand out as being significantly better than others regarding abrasion resistance?

I've only lost 2 fish from using braid. Being where I fish some of this is do to luck. From looking into it I'm guessing this situation regarding the use of hollow braid is what it is....Jeff  

conchydong

Some braids have coatings that might help with abrasion but I would think that it would be minimal. Many manufacturers offer various types of coatings. Most people that fish braid around structure use a mono or fluorocarbon top shot which is more abrasion resistant. Braid has many great qualities but abrasion resistance is not one of them.

Rivverrat

Oh I'm using at least a mono leader & on some of my reels close to a 100 yard top shot.

Tiddlerbasher

If you can source large enough spools Kevlar braid would make an excellent choice for a main line. Tooth proof and very abrasion resistant - I use it for cats, pike and sea fishing.

Normslanding

Most coatings are cosmetic. A few add a little abrasion resistance. Only you can judge if it is worth it to you. I have found that 8 weave/strand solid to be more resistant than hollow. But for me it is not enough to stop using hollow. Being able to replace sections of hollow with a 100% splice is a big factor. Ya, it costs more for hollow, but that one fact overrides the initial cost. My hollow comes from China, it costs about 30% of Toro. They have hollow down to 20 lb. test. The cost of China PE, as well as better connection of hollow to Fluoro/ Mono make it a no brainier, FOR ME.

Rivverrat

Normslanding, Your reasoning is the EXACT same for me & I why I have continued to use hollow in spite of it's one major short coming....Jeff