Effectively Casting Conventional Reel ?

Started by The Moe, July 01, 2015, 05:59:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Moe

Hi, This is Moe, I'm new to this great forum.

Currently, I have a Daiwa Sealine900H conventional reel that I bought from flea world for 15 bucks!. It was very dirty but with the help of Alan's great tutorial here, some schematics, tooth brush and some acetone it is now looking and performing like new!

Mainly, I am a freshwater fisherman. trophy Blue and flathead cats are my targets. I do a little (once a year) saltwater fishing when I'm in Florida on vacation. every year, my family rent a charter boat for deep sea fishing and go without me. Because I am very susceptible to severe sea sickness  :'( :'(

So, even when no one I know actually love fishing more than I do, I find myself fishing off the pier.  :'(

I have a few good Abu Garcia Ambassadeur baitcasters in my arsenal and I'm really good at using baitcasters but never had trolling or conventional reels before. They obviously very similar to a baitcaster except they are more robust and lack the oscillating guide mechanism. My question is: are those conventional reels castable? if so, how reliable ? Any special techniques or tips to consider?

Thank you!

thorhammer

Moe, welcome!!!!

For starters, a 900H in good shape for $15 is gonna get some people's left eye all twitchy on site....thats a GREAT find.....we'd all take a pallet load at that price.