penn jigmaster help!

Started by fishhawk, September 02, 2015, 01:16:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fishhawk

Mornin men! 'ol dummy here again! (once you feed an old dog he always returns!) I have a jigmaster 500s that the right side plate rings will NOT quite line up! They start fine, turns, but won't turn all the way! It likes about 1/8" lining up with mounting screw.It's not dirty, doesnt seem to be bent, just wont turn far enough, I've tried with or without grease, even used my rubber mallet a little.Please help before I smash it with my hammer! lol Have any of you'll had this problem? Should I just get another ring?

Rancanfish

As I look at the pic, I believe you have a stock jigmaster. Look at the part # on the ring.  It says 2-250n.  I was told by an Ebay'er that they fit jigmasters.  As you see they work, but barely.  That is the surfmaster 250 ring I think.

If you lift the screw up as you turn with a grippy rag or rubber jar grip, you can get them back together.

I have brand new ones, (2-250n's), sitting in my stash for that reason. I hate fighting that sideplate, and won't.  The right part # is 2-500s if it was indeed a 500s.  I just looked on mine.

If it is a regular 500,  the part # is 2-250. No 'N'.  Many of mine have no # marking on them at all.
If I had an extra I'd give it to you, I understand the frustration.
I woke today and suddenly nothing happened.

Rancanfish

We agree. The part # is 2-250.

I have both ring styles in hand.  I do not have any Surfmaster 250's to take  apart to confirm what I was told by the (unnamed  ;D) Ebay dealer. Their description says it may be a tight fit(in a 500), in so many words.

Reel 224

Penn as far as I know doesn't make a SurfMaster 250 but I could be wrong ??? Try doing what MeL B  suggested in his first post about leaving all screws loose and adjust the plate.

Joe
"I don't know the key to success,but the key to failure is trying to please everyone."

fishhawk