How to use a star drag

Started by Rweakley, April 05, 2016, 03:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rweakley

Hello guys, please forgive my ignorance.  I have always been a spinning reel guy and even have a low profile baitcaster, but I am just getting into conventionals (star drags) and want to know how to use it before I take it out.  I am still building the rods.  I am mainly concerned with live bait rods I can leave while fishing lures.

My first question is using the clicker for a live bait scenario.  Lets say I cast out a ways and want to let my bait swim freely.  Can I leave it in free spool until a fish grabs it or would that cause a backlash on a run?  Or should I engage the clicker to prevent that?  It seems like the clicker will prevent the bait fish from being able to take line like it can on my baitrunner spinning reel.

More importantly, if a fish is running in free spool (with or without the clicker on), will throwing it into gear with the lever damage the gears?  Do I need to slow the spool down with my thumb prior to engaging, or are they designed to be used this way?  I did this once while testing out the free spool by hand spinning the reel before putting on line.  I had a good spin going and without thinking, flipped the lever.  It got me thinking and wondering if that would cause damage.

I wish I had the funds for a lever drag, as it seems like that would alleviate any issues.  But alas I don't and purchased a crappy used Jigmaster that I fixed up.  Works smooth as butter now thanks to the tutorial on here!  I also have a used 112h that was fixed up by the previous owner that's in very good condition.

Thanks for the help!

tholmes

It's pretty easy, even I can do it   ;D