Penn Monofil 26 on True Temper Montague 7779 Rod - Found at local thrift store

Started by Abombs, June 10, 2021, 03:41:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Abombs

Quote from: thorhammer on June 10, 2021, 06:17:39 PM
No one wants to cast braid long on this reel, I promise.

Curious why you say this? I have a Beachmaster 155 that I put an aluminum spool in + magged and it casts like a dream with 40lb braid. I have no trouble casting 100+ yards with only 2oz of lead. Even on an 7.5' rod I can outcast basically anyone with spinning tackle, and it's a breeze. I also surf cast with 4/0 Senator with an 11' rod that I can throw the same distance, even with 90lb braid. I have multiple squidders on 12' rods that I have also magged and put braid on, and they are champion casters for sure, and throw even further. But the humble Beachmaster 155 is way better than most might think.... I also have a 209 level wind that I magged. I keep 40lb mono on it, and similarly, it casts like a dream. People talk about the level wind reducing casting performance.... Sure.... But it still outcasts spinning tackle by leaps and bounds.

I learned to cast conventional with the 155 Beachmaster when it had a brass spool. It took some practice, but I got it down, and everything since then has been a breeze, especially after modding and upgrading....

Quoteif you want to use it light trolling or bottom fishing it should do plenty with stock gears and carbontex drag. Remember the WR red drum was caught on a Squidder from surf- 93 lbs or so, with stock drags as they were 40 years ago, and no one EVER accused a drum being a slouch of a fighter.

That's pretty cool. I did not know that. Fun trivia. I had a Squidder dog and brass gear turn into mush and fail when I hooked up a very large bull shark not long ago. It was already a worn reel, but it was toast after that. I would be afraid it would happen again with a 93lb red.

Abombs

Quote from: oc1 on June 10, 2021, 07:32:44 PM