SERVICING — Shimano Aernos 1000FA

Started by LLCC, June 09, 2016, 04:13:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LLCC

I must admit first, that I'm a noob at servicing modern spinning reels although the first reel I ever stripped and serviced successfully was a Fixed Spool Shakespeare in 1976. However, my path went down the way of "conventional reels" and there, I had spent my time at, servicing the Ambassadeurs, Penn Internationals and the Shimano Calcuttas and more recently, the likes of Antares, Zillion and Alphas.

So it is with trepidation that I approach a modern spinning reel, after having spent an hour puzzling over how to strip apart a Daiwa Freams 2500. Armed with that experience, it was with equal caution and restraint that I chose to break the servicing down to 3 sittings, when I was finally compelled to service this reel after it had had several visits to the sea.

I chose to break up the servicing into (i) The Spool and Drag system, (ii) The Bail and Line Roller and (iii) The body. Since I had serviced (i) and (ii) earlier and had not documented the process, I will talk about how I stripped and reassembled the body this time. On a later date, I shall add to this step by step, how I did the first two stages.

This is what it looks like after the reel is stripped. To my pleasant surprise, it was not complicated at all, and I grabbed the opportunity to relube the bearings.

The full step by step with photos are detailed in the link below:
https://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/servicing-shimano-aernos-1000fa/

HTH,

LL
Lawrence Lee

Alto Mare

Very nice Lawrence, you won't know unless you try. Great pics on your link...good job!

Sal
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

foakes

Excellent work --

Thanks for showing us -- that is what makes this site unique.

Many varied skillsets.

Best,

Fred