looking for recipes and guidance for smoking tuna small fillets

Started by steelfish, December 20, 2023, 08:00:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steelfish

hey Stevo, I would eat that Salmon in a heartbeat, looks yum!!
The Baja Guy

jigmaster501

I have 23 years of regulatory food safety experience and I was the project lead for the 2019 revision of the AFDO Cured, Salted and Smoked Fish Establishments Guidance Document. Download a free copy at www.afdo.org and
PM me your number and I will call you.

I will be glad to help you safely make smoked fish at home.

That goes for anyone.

Also see in the recipes section where I have posted Food Safety for All.

Eugene

jigmaster501

Sorry, I was reading quick and didn't see that your post is already in recipes.

Been a long week. Hope everyone cooks to safe temperatures, cools food rapidly and eats well this weekend (for those celebrating)

Eugene

jurelometer

Eugene!

I was hoping you would jump in. I would like to add a couple comments and questions if you don't mind.

It took a bit a digging, but I think that you are referring to this document:

https://www.afdo.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Cured_salted_and_smoked_fish_establishments_good_manufacturing_practices_acc_updated_2019.pdf

Interesting reading, but I assume for the general public, determining the water phase salt percentage is pretty close to impossible, Even though Alex is more fortunate enough than most of us to have an actual trained chemist in the house, there is still the equipment issue.

1.  Your "Food Safety for all" thread (https://alantani.com/index.php/topic,19112.0.html ) also mentioned the 3.5% water phase salt target, but I didn't see any information on how someone at home is supposed to accomplish this.  Is this possible?