Advice needed in setting up new reel!

Started by steppenwolph, September 13, 2016, 09:52:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steppenwolph

Hello all,
I have just discovered this wonderful board and have been just amazed by all the great information found here.  Although I have been hobby fishing for most of my life, I am a complete novice when it comes to baitcasting reels, having fished with spincasters all my life.  I live in northern lower Michigan, and fish the small lakes and rivers near me.  I am about 1 1/2 hours drive from Lake Michigan, and so maybe a couple of trips to the lake shore during summer to try my luck there.
I've jumped in and bought a Shimano Calcutta CT200B reel, and I am looking for some advice in pairing it up with an appropriate rod, and some line.  I was thinking that a 'medium' action Ugly Stick and some braided 30 lb. test would be good, but I freely admit that I am in over my head with all the options.  The 30 lb  test line seems insanely large, but I really like braided line and didn't want too small of a line diameter.
Given the kind of fishing I do, freshwater species, mainly northern pike, bass, perch, walleye, etc., what kind of rod would you all recommend?  Thanks in advance for your replies, and my most heartfelt gratitude to Mr. Alan Tani for all the time and effort he has put in to create this board.
Regards,
Wayne

Bill B

Wayne, welcome to site.  Im sure others will chime in, but I have fished the Calcutta with 20lb mono (no braid) for King Salmon here on the Sacramento Delta and felt the 20lb mono gave me good feel and control for fish up to 36 lbs.  30 lb braid would be a good choice with a top shot of 20 lb mono.