for first timers. new members, or even veterans that just need a quick answer

Started by alantani, January 09, 2016, 10:07:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gfish

Yeah, that's another good one. I used bread, but it worked well.
Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

cranker789

Just found a Penn pursuit iv on top of a garbage can at the park. looks like the only thing wrong with it is a bent main shaft and the handle. Ive ordered the parts. Looks like all the gears are going to be fine but there's a lot of metal shavings on the gears. What's the best way to clean off the gears completely and regrease? I read lighter fluid but I don't have any. Will soap and water do the trick?

Swami805

An old toothbrush and some kind of solvent to break down the old grease. Soap and water might be ok if you really work at it with a toothbrush or something
Do what you can with that you have where you are

cranker789

Roan

I have a vintage Haidong Master 808 reel. I want to swap the handle from right side to left. It is not like normal reels in that the other side does not accommodate the post. Are these reels not "switchable" or is there a trick to it?  Thank you.

alantani

i took a quick look but could not find anything online.  photos might help.   :-\
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

foakes

Should be reversible crank mount from right to left.

Typically, just unscrew the cover cap on the opposite side.

There should be a screw inside to remove.

Or, the entire crank assembly may just unscrew if rotated backwards.

But generally, on Asian & Korean reels —- there is a screw on the opposite side under the cap.

Like Alan said —- post some pics.

Welcome!

Best, Fred
The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------