Main Menu

Mead

Started by Keta, July 23, 2018, 01:58:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keta

My bees have been busy, in anticipation of having excess honey I started playing around with making mead.  I had some dry wine yeast at first and it made a dry wine like mead that people tended to like but we ran out and had to order more.  I tried bread yeast and it makes good mead but it dies off when there is still quite a bit of sugar left, it's is like a mild alcoholic soda.  It has a lot of natural carbonation.

4 gallons  un-chlorinated water
1/2-1 gallon honey
1 package yeast (I ordered mead yeast from England this time but dry wine yeast works well and bread yeast works OK if you want a sweet mead)

Put 1/2 of the water in a 5 ga carboy
Add honey and shake it until all of the honey is dissolved
Put the yeast into the rest of the water and mix it up well
Put the yeast/water mix into the carboy and shake
Put a air lock on the carboy and set aside for 4 days for mild mead and 4-5 weeks for the harder stuff.
I let the yeast settle out and drink the mild stuff as is. For the harder stuff I wait for the primary fermentation to stop, rack off the clear liquid, put it in bottles, add 1 tsp honey to the bottles and cap them.  Wait 3 weeks to 4 months and carefully open it, it is champaign to rocket like when opening.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Ron Jones

Love me some mead, need to come over.
Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

Keta

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

theswimmer