Upgrading Spinning Reels

Started by Ridgers, June 29, 2019, 08:11:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ridgers

Hello

I am new to the forum and new to delving into the inner working of fishing reels.

My interest is in modifying and upgrading small spinning reels.

I have just acquired a secondhand Shimano Exage EXG-1000FC to practice on and my question, as a complete beginner (sorry :-\), is what can I do with the reel to improve upon the standard spec.? What, for instance, can I realistically do to make the action smoother and the reel lighter, for example? Can I even change the appearance to give it a different aesthetic without impeding upon performance?

Any recommendations and advice would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

Stu

foakes

Welcome, Stu —

Others will chime in here with some good thoughts also.

In the meantime, initially, there is not as much that can be done to upgrade small spinners as there are with conventionals.

However, you can look at —

Drags, bearings, upgraded A/R bearing, crank handles, EVA crank knobs, etc., initially.

Perhaps to reduce weight, the spools could be reduced by drilling holes.

Arboring the spool with a spacer can reduce the amount of wasted line on the spool.

Anything you might do to reduce weight in other areas could possibly lessen the structure of the frame.

Assuming your Shimano is graphite or metal — anything you do will not reduce weight too much.

It really depends on your goals, and what you are wanting to accomplish.

Appearance wise — anodizing different colors, powder coating, anodizing screws — the sky is the limit.

It is all personal choice.

As a guy who has a fair amount of experience with spinners — I look forward to your ideas.

Best,

Fred

The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------