Humminbird side imaging screenshots

Started by Three se7ens, September 23, 2019, 10:22:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Three se7ens

There was some interest in one of the screenshots I had posted from my Humminbird Helix 5 SI, so I figured Id start a post for some of my more interesting screenshots.  

I fish pretty much exclusively from a kayak these days, and side imaging has become an important tool for me for finding fish as well as structure.  Im still no expert, but certainly getting better at adjusting the settings to get good returns and being able to understand what all its showing me.  

Here are some from my numerous (unsuccessful so far) attempts at tarpon this summer.  On the last two, you can see the tarpon (bright returns), and a big school of bait.

Three se7ens

Few more tarpon and bait shots.  Notice the shadows from the tarpon, you can use the distance between the return and the shadow to judge how high the fish is in the water column. 

cwillis85

I have been interested in upgrading from my Dragonfly but I have a 2010 pro angler 14 with no transducer pocket, yet alone the massive one you need for the side imaging setups. These images make it look awfully temping though.
Chris

Three se7ens

Quote from: cwillis85 on September 23, 2019, 11:39:22 PM
I have been interested in upgrading from my Dragonfly but I have a 2010 pro angler 14 with no transducer pocket, yet alone the massive one you need for the side imaging setups. These images make it look awfully temping though.

The Humminbird SI transducers are very short but wide.  Nothing like the lowrance/garmin ones.   Still tricky on an older PA though.  You could always do a track mount transducer arm, or set up something that mounts to the rear handle.

My 2019 Outback has a retractable transducer mount, and its fantastic.  Deployed, its the lowest point on the yak.  But if can retract the transducer up into the hull for landing/etc.

Three se7ens