Knots and Science

Started by swill88, January 03, 2020, 12:18:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

swill88

oc1

Yes, that is interesting Steve; especially the part about the role of twists.  The next step would be for them to evaluate knots based on breaking strength (as percent of line strength) instead of how easily they slip loose.
-steve

Rivverrat

Of the things I do I am an arborist (Monkey with a Saw) by trade.  It surprises me the number of people in this trade that essentially are clueless regarding knots but yet  luck trust a knot to hold them safely. This line in the video that shows areas of high stress is a neat tool. Neat video... Jeff

Ron Jones

The last statement blows me away, as it always does. Scientists are always baffled that humans have a capability if they can't figure out how we developed the capability. They also are blown away when something humans have known for yonks and not described scientifically holds true. I'm never certain if it is being pompous or is just an abject lack of common sense.
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

Rivverrat

Quote from: Ron Jones on January 03, 2020, 03:07:08 AM
... I'm never certain if it is being pompous or is just an abject lack of common sense.

Ya I noticed that also. The simplicity of doing something, taking mental notes & making changes along the way until the desired goal is achieved seems to be beyond them.

It's one reason we see some getting all giddy watching monkeys use sticks to get at ants or other mall critters they eat. Seeing this I have to ask myself do they really have a basic understanding of the animal they are studying ?

oc1

Yeah, sometimes science just describes the obvious.  Instead of thinking of it as invention, think of it as educational material.
-steve

Rivverrat

Steve, Ron & myself may not understand the basis of asking, how did man ever arrive at a a point where he could tie a proper knot ?