Main Menu

Started by jcboyken, April 26, 2020, 01:17:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcboyken

Hi my name is JC Boyken. I am from SE Indiana and I will shortly be graduating from WVU. I am just getting started with reel maintenance and I found the forum. I just bought an Abu Ambassadeur 6000 off of Ebay for what I feel like was a pretty decent price. When I got it it was full of old line would barely turn and was in pretty rough shape. I've got it running pretty smooth now but I a few questions.
1. Once I got it apart I soaked the whole thing in Simple Green overnight and ran it through my ultrasonic cleaner. This got most of the dirt and grime off of it but it didn't do a whole lot for the grease I was able to get most of the grease off with dish soap and a tooth brush. Some parts of the reel have holes and crevices in them though or don't come completely apart (gears and levelwind/plastic bushing combo). Is there a way to better/more efficient way to clean these parts?
2. I was also thinking about swapping out the bushing for ceramic bearings. Is this doable and will it measurably increase the performance of the reel?
3. The frame is also a bit bent is there a way to fix this?
4. Can anyone tell me what the numbers on the reel seat mean?

happyhooker

Greetings, JC, from Minnesota.

Lots of folks on this site dig those ABUs, so you should get some feedback shortly.

Frank

Crow

There's nothing wrong with a few "F's" on your record....Food, Fun, Flowers, Fishing, Friends, and Fun....to name just a few !

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Darin Crofton

Welcome aboard, JC, hoping an ABU lover will help you soon!
God, Family and Fishing, what else is there?

Midway Tommy

Welcome!

The number on the foot tells you when the reel was made. 05 May, 72 1972, 02 the second batch, i.e. variation.