Penn 704 spool troubles

Started by The-Surfisher, September 11, 2020, 10:00:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The-Surfisher

Hi everybody.

This is my first post..I have been rebuilding Penn 704's since 1975 and recently i have had to replace the metal "keyed" washers..there are 2 sizes,  57-704 which is the small diameter and 57A-750 which is the large diameter.
no matter where i order from,the washers all have the same diameter-small, they measure around .807-.808...the large diameter washers that i take out are around .822-.823...the reason it makes a difference is because if you use the smaller diameter at the top it will not be held in by the retaining ring,when i remove and replace the spool,the washers and drag just push pass the retainer while the retainer is still in it's position...is anyone else having this problem ?

JasonGotaProblem

Not quite what you're asking but I suspect this will solve your problem and be an upgrade.

https://www.mysticparts.com/CustomParts/UltimateUpgrades/UU-PENN700Z/800Z.aspx
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

ReelFishingProblems

I have the same problem, I didn't know there was a different size of metal washers. My 704Z uses Bryan's ultimate upgrade drag stack.

I keep thinking a different shaped retaining clip would keep everything in

Nick

The-Surfisher

Hi

If you look at Mystic's parts list for the drag washers,they will list a keyed washer "small diameter" and another keyed washer as "large diameter" for the 704..the large diameter is about .016 larger and fits under ther retaining ring,if you put the smaller diameter washer last on the stack under the retaining ring,it will not be held in place, in my case it pops out...i have six  704's that have worn out washers...old style that are brass with chrome plating that are in need of replacement,the replacements are stainless steel and all are  small diameter even with different part numbers...frustrating.

foakes