4400SS A/R issue

Started by elcarlstono, October 30, 2020, 01:12:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elcarlstono

I have a 4400SS that my son and I rebuilt last Christmas. It has the "new style" A/R, butt was still causing me a lot of problems. I completely degreased and regreased and it was working great through about 5 or 6 trips. After that the A/R didnt want to engage unless I spun the reel backwards really fast several times.
I understand that this was a weak spot on the reel, but  expected it to last longer than that!  Any tips  anyone has on getting more life out of the A/R before it starts to fail would be greatly appreciated. 
Or, if I should just go ahead and expect this I'll plan on getting him something else.
Thanks!
Carlton

JasonGotaProblem

I'm no expert but I believe its the same design as the 4500SS "new style" AR. Its friction ring based. As such it needs friction to work. So the AR is the one part i leave increased. Also you can consider going to a sprung setup. It'll click. A lot. but it wont fail.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

philaroman

my guess:
you greased the clutch -- DON'T
or
used too much grease all-around & some traveled into the clutch -- DON'T

elcarlstono

OK, so more friction.  Got it!  The degreaser bath will start shortly..

THanks!

elcarlstono

Wait, what part are we calling the "clutch". Nothing on the diagram is labeled as such.

JasonGotaProblem

Quote from: elcarlstono on October 30, 2020, 02:13:06 PM
Wait, what part are we calling the "clutch". Nothing on the diagram is labeled as such.
Suspect he means The AR. The AR is sort of a clutch technically, wouldn't be the term I'd use because the 4th gen SS reels have an actual (low quality) clutch, and that may confuse some. But its not technically wrong.

elcarlstono

I assume its the little brass post on which the dog (4) sits on?

philaroman

sorry, you said "new style A/R" which I ASSumed meant "instant" (zero back-play),